Exhibition: Vancouver Mural Festival – Year 2 // Vancouver, Canada

IMG_2530

I was lucky enough to get myself down to this year’s Vancouver Mural Festival exhibition at the Burrard Arts Foundation a couple of days before it ended. It’s the first time I’ve ever been to the space, which is conveniently located on East Broadway – only a few minutes walk from Main Street, and almost in the epicentre of where you’ll find the awesome murals created during both this and last year’s festivals.

IMG_2524

Now I have to apologise in advance for the quality of the photos. In a huge case of absentmindedness I somehow managed to leave my SD card in my laptop, the realisation of which occurred when I was trying to take my first photo….So I had to put my big, expensive, camera shaped brick back into my bag and fell back on my phone’s *meh* camera instead. On the flip side though, it’s given me a chance to improve my photo editing skills – as I’ve had to correct warped lines, adjust odd perspectives and re-balance lighting. I’ll have to make a post in the future showing you all how to straighten out the lines of a warped phone photo using Photoshop….Anyway, on to the exhibition!

IMG_2522

The show provided an interesting opportunity to see work made by this year’s mural artists outside of a mural context. With some you could see there was a direct translation from their regular practice to approaching working in such a different scale. Upsizing, multiplying, repeating – all of which allowed them to transpose their work from small scale canvas/paper/etc to large scale outdoor space. With others the link was either less obvious or the transformation from their regular practice into their mural was pleasingly unexpected – with some leaving you feeling like they should just quit making ‘small’ work and just find large walls to paint instead!

IMG_2525

The space itself is great. The front of the gallery is a wall of glass which lets an awesome amount of light in, and the gallery is a generally open plan white-walled-wonder but with a couple of nooks to explore aswell. Shows of this kind can often be a little difficult to curate, as the only linking feature in this case is the artists’ involvement in the mural festival. Despite the disparity in style, subject matter and size – the show was put together well and generally flowed nicely. As I’ve already said, the show acted as a nice accompaniment to the mural festival itself – almost like a kind of ‘behind the scenes’, or a preliminary doodle. I think next year I might make the effort to see the show before I take a look at the new murals, as I feel like that would make more sense as a viewer!

For a full list of participating artists, and the Burrard Arts Foundation’s own write up on the show, just head over to their website.

Leave a Reply

